Catch-Up

December 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

*Bolded words are clickable :)

So, it has been a VERY long time since my last post.  I figure this will go one of two ways.  I will have a super long post that nobody will read or I will get overwhelmed with trying to remember everything that has happened in the past 6 months and quit.  Yea, I can be like that.

This summer was both challenging and great.  Josh had a very relaxing time working at the base and reading a ton in his free time.  He got really into Vietnam books, North Korea and military memoirs in general.  He especially loved Restrepo and lucky for him, he also got to see the documentary with his Dad and Roma at a little Indy theater in Bexley.  I am pretty sure I could not handle it.  I did not even bother trying.  I am super sensitive to violence.  He also changed the breaks on my car!  Such a handy man.  He is growing to love and utilize tools of all varieties.  This should make Christmas shopping nice in the future (other than the fact that I know nothing about hardware).

We would often enjoy nightly swims at our complex pool.  I got very tan and freckly and well, Josh got very red and freckly.  Gotta love the fair skinned kind!  Hmmmm… we also started making homemade vanilla extract.  We bought a ton of vanilla beans from Madagascar for a very cheap price and have been putting them in mason jars with Vodka/Rum.  We probably are not your typical early 20-somethings.  Our alcohol consumption is a little different.  I much prefer our methods!

Nursing school over the summer was OK.  Probably one of my least favorite quarters in general.  I really like Med-Surg but my clinical instructor was brutal.  We definitely had a personality clash.  I cannot stand instructors that thrive off of being condescending and rude.  I am not dumb.  I know what needs to be done but I do need your guidance (not ridicule).  Hence, why I am in nursing school.  It was absolutely frustrating but I survived and did really well.  I love surgical units.  It is mainly all I know but still, I really enjoy the variety and fast pace.  And the ridiculousness of some patients; never a dull moment (I had a patient with Munchhausen and was a drug seeker, for all you psych nerds)!  Ethics was fine.  I had Jane Doorely.  I want to be her when I grow up.  She was the only reason why I enjoyed the class.  Side note, it pays $200/hr if you’re a nurse working on an ethical/legal case (involves lots of reading and testifying) but just in case you have your BSN, lots of free time and are hard up for some cash.  I also took some Family of Nursing class- biggest waste of my time.  I’m not even going to share about it.

We also joined a house church through APEX in August.  Best decision yet!  We have absolutely fallen in love with all the people and the biblical truth and accountability.  It is a beautiful thing to have friends so intimate with the Lord and so desperate for biblical truth!

Josh has since started and completed (his last final was yesterday) his very last Fall Semester.  I am going to go on a Josh tangent here.  Hang in there… MY HUSBAND IS AMAZING! His school work is done with excellency and humility.  I have to purposely ask how he does or he will not tell me.  He is no braggart!  He was invited to go to Washington D.C. to present his internship work that he did over the summer (in which he will tell you “no big deal”).  He did such a good job!  He is such an amazing leader in the home, in his studies, and at work.  He has such great balance in his life and he shares that with me most every day.  He is quick to fix a fault and slow to boast.  He warms me through and through.  He took me on a run of the town (Washington D.C.) and made arrangements so that I got to tour most everything I would ever want.  He taught me about the metro/subway system and very purposeful “vacationing”.  He is truly my very best friend.  Since, Josh has also traveled to Connecticut to interview with Electric Boat (4 different hiring managers were interested) in which he has also received employment offers.  The two of us traveled to Columbus, Indiana so that he could do a final interview/tour with Cummins.  They too have offered employment.  His senior project creating a Solar Water Heater for missionaries in Liberia is coming along.  Though, I know very little of those details.  He has prioritized House Church and Fight Club (a men’s accountability group).  And most importantly, he is meeting my needs as a husband spiritually and emotionally.  Not to say it has all been rainbows and butterflies (we are definitely learning what it means to be married and live sacrificially), but being married to THIS man has been the best part of my life to date.

Fall quarter for me was extremely boring.  It was still very busy (mostly busy work) but boring all the same.  I had Geriatrics, which I thought I would love.  Love it I did not!  The nursing home is boring, no treatments or procedures, IVs, shots, nothing critical.  I am pretty sure my skill competency has decreased.  I was excited to get my own patient.  Older folks love me and my genuinely sweet manner (they can never hear me though, too soft spoken I guess).  Then, I get assigned King Grumpy.  He NEVER warmed up to me.  10 weeks and he never once smiled or said anything friendly.  Bust.  Oh well.  At least now I know that something I thought might be a viable option for employment is nothing that I am interested in.  Thank you clinical rotations.  I also took Nursing Research, another waste of time.  I knew it would be.  The professor was nice though and I got to write a very professional APA Research Critique (17 pages of sounding super intelligent-I dig it).  I also finished my psychology minor!  Good for me.

I have been on break since the 3rd week of November.  I have kept myself busy with 3 jobs.  I work seasonally with Toys R Us (which surprisingly I love) and I have a job with The Sitter Connection.  It is super easy and wonderful, untaxed money.  I have cleaned a lot and read a lot on how to be organized and frugal.  I have done a lot of baking and recipe reading.  Trying to be a good wife.  I have started a Home Notebook.

I have completely thrown myself into this project for the last week and completed it last night (of course I’ll always be adding to and writing in it but it is finally useable).  I’ll have to take pictures later, I think J has the camera right now.  But basically, there are 14 tabs (goals, schedule, menu plan, homeschooling, hospitality, holidays, household inventory, finances,  family journal, household maintenance, blog ideas, resources, contacts, and others).

Goals- We set up personal goals for this year related to ministry, home, nutrition, etc.  I have a book list here.  The months priorities and big upcoming events.  This is where I keep a running shopping list.  And it is a place for me to keep date night ideas and ways to bless my husband (for all you married women, I’m starting a “I Love My Husband” book.

Schedule- This is where I keep my daily schedule.  I have each day (Monday-Sunday) into 15 min increments and a plan of what is to be done that day.  I have filled out everything from waking up and doing devotions, making coffee, to when I’ll do certain chores and when I plan to go to bed.  The plan is that if I have a structured day and set time for everything, I’ll be more productive than just knowing something needs done and not having a set plan of action.  This should lead to better study habits, consistent/intimate times with the Lord, more time for ministry and a clean home!

Menu Plan- This is where I have a monthly and weekly menu plan.  I have a calender for January with all the dinners we will be having.  From this, I can write down the needed ingredients and compare it with what I already have in stock and then make a grocery list of what I will need for that month.  The plan is to cut down on daily/weekly little trips shopping to one big monthly trip.  This should save money, gas, sanity, and a wanting spirit.  I also made a catalog of all the dinner and sides recipes I have and would like to use and they are broken down to Mexican Monday, Soup Tuesday, Italian Wednesday, Crockpot Thursday, Breakfast Friday, Sandwich Saturday and Leftovers Sunday.

Homeschooling- This is tentative.  Obviously I don’t have kids but I will keep things here that I run across.  I already have some notes (from Frugal Living for Dummies and this site.  We’re not even sure we’ll home-school but since it is an option I think it’s OK to start preparing.  I will not spend a lot of time in this section though.  That probably would not be a wise use of time.

Hospitality-  One of our goals is to have someone(s) over once a month.  In this section is our invite list along with ideas of what we might like to do with our friends!

Holidays- Here is our Christmas Card list and list for Christmas present ideas and budget.

Household Inventory- I have made an inventory of our Refridgerator, Freezer, pantry, and general household things, along with the things we most commonly use.

Finances- This is strictly for me.  This will be a weekly record of the money I bring in and the money I spend.  I am going to a cash only method to decrease my spending and start working toward a budget.  I have a lot of learning to do!

Family Journal- This is where I will keep a weekly evaluation of the household and a monthly journal of what God has done for us in the past month (where we have grown and what blessings he has given us).  The whole point of this entire notebook is to have a Christ-centered home.  Let’s give him praise!

Household maintenance- Lists of chores that need done daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and yearly and a list of needed cleaning supplies.

Blog Ideas- Self-explanatory.  I’m not sure I’ll use it.  I’m not a huge blogger but it’s something to keep in mind in case I do make it a habit.

Contacts- Our master list of contacts (stolen from our wedding list!).

Other- Here I keep track of coupons (what for and expiration dates) and a list of Gift cards.

And I keep receipts in the back.

Before I get off here, I would like to share recipes with you that i have used in the past 6 months (Favorite are Italicized and bolded, good ones are italicized and the ones crossed off either didn’t taste great, was expensive, or too hard to make):

Crepes
Blackberry Muffins
Overnight Oats w/blueberry banana soft-serve
Pumpkin & Caramelized Banana Oatmeal Bake
Svelte Peanut Butter Milkshake
Banana Oat Bars (these are not good)
Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars w/Streusal Topping
Big Chocolate Chip Cookies (I’m not a cookie girl but I love these)
Pecan Rolo Pretzels (crowd pleaser!)
Fluffy Pumpkin Dip w/Cinnamon Sugar Tortillas
Fudge Popsicles
Pumpkin Pie Bars
Truffles
Candy Cane Cookies (YUM)
Buckeyes
Shredded Mexican Chicken
Chicken Taquitos
Saucy Chicken Sandwiches
3 Meat Pizza Casserole (Expensive and makes a TON)
Chicken Pot Pie Soup
Paninis (this is basic, I create all kinds with my George Foreman)
Breadsticks
Fruit Chips
Vanilla Extract (in case you’re curious)
Puppy Chow
Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal Bake (I’m obsessed, lots of protein!)
Blender Black Bean Soup
Campbell’s Beef Taco Skillet
Diner Meatloaf Muffins (healthy!)
Buffalo Chicken Chili (J’s favorite)
Puff Pastry Chicken Pot Pie (OK, but expensive)
Caribbean Jerk Chicken legs (cannot find the recipe)
Roasted Pepper Risotto
French Bread Pizza (another of J’s favorites)
Pepperoni Pizza Puffs
Snickerdoodles
Fluffernutter Cookies (must drink milk!)
Cinnamon pies
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake Bars (amazing)
Snickers Candy Bar
Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread
Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal
Pumpkin Pie Milkshake
In-Your-Face Banana Bread (Best ever!)

I think that’s it.  Can you guess what my hobby is?  Welp, I’m off to make these.  I’m taking them to an Ugly Sweater Party!  Hopefully I can post pictures of our Ugly, ugly outfits.

Till then, LOVE

Em

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Catch-Up at Yesh and Princess.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

